The Mantsopa Local Municipality has 27 seats. There were 27,157 registered voters in the municipality for the 2011 local government elections. The highest voter turn-out was achieved in Ward 2 with 71.05 %. The lowest voter turn-out in the municipality was in Ward 3 with 46.16 %. The average voter turn-out achieved in the 2011 municipal elections was 53.70 %.

Following the 2011 local government elections, three political parties are represented in the Council. The African National Congress was returned as the majority party with 13 seats. The Democratic Alliance holds 63 seats and the Congress of the People holds 1 seat. No independent councilor was elected to the Council.

Ward Demarcation

The municipal area has been divided into 8 wards. The wards comprise the following areas;

  • Ward 1 is constituted by Tweespruit, Borwa, Dawiesville, ThabaPatchoa and surrounding rural areas
  • Hobhouse, Dipelaneng, and surrounding rural areas form part of Ward 2
  • Ward 3 includes the areas of Mandela Park, Riverside, Masakeng, Thusanong, Modderpoort and surrounding rural areas
  • Ward 4 includes Ladybrand, Mauersnek, Los My Cherrie, and surrounding rural areas
  • Ward 5 comprises of Manyatseng, Flamingo, and surrounding rural areas
  • Ward 6 comprises of Lusaka, Thabong, New Platberg, and Homes 2000
  • Excelsior, part of Mahlatswetsa and surrounding rural areas constitute Ward 7
  • Ward 8 comprises of Mahlatswetsa and surrounding rural areas